Azure Machine Learning Algorithms – #sqlsatVienna session evaluation

After reading the session evaluation on my presentation of Azure Machine Learning Algorithms at SQL Saturday Vienna 2016 again it got me thinking.

What got me thinking (again and again) is not the positive feedback or critical view (yes, I had some problems with resolution of my presentation – especially with demos), but really the extent and number of people still trying to see if machine learning (or any form of advanced statistics) will give any benefits to the company.

azure ML_R

It feels like I am the advocate for this idea. Yes, every company will benefit of analyzing data. Period.

I started this session (Azure Machine Learning Algorithms) mainly to give introduction into how each of the algorithms is working, what kind of data can be used and what is the practical outcome. And my main reason is to give people common ground on why this is not something to be afraid of and on the other hand, to give them insights on how algorithms differ.

The first time I have submitted this session for for SQL Saturday Slovenia 2015 and got room full of people. With initial ratings not that good, I must say the session got way much better evaluations in couple of next SQL Saturdays (SQL Saturday Pordenone 2016, Slovenian User Group meeting, SQL Saturday Paris 2016 – my session was selected, unfortunately I had to cancel it, since I won’t be able to make it). And I am very happy I started this with this session (is it not to show how Azure ML is working; how to build the models, but mainly explaining the algorithms in behind – more statistics!), because I have seen people from SQL Community following this kind of session!

But going back the main issue I have seen on evaluations:

How will you use the information you learned here? Include in my current project
How will you use the information you learned here? I will try to use it
How will you use the information you learned here? I will know better what to look at before working with AML.
How will you use the information you learned here? I got an insight to the world of data science.

People are either still very much at the “getting-to-know” stage or at the “trying” stage. And based on the people at my session I clearly remember people not being that familiar with this area.

Therefore I would like to implore and kindly ask all the people still having second thoughts on this issue, start playing with it and gradually you get to familiarize with the tools, especially with R – that is becoming more and more popular.ย  And if you have any questions please post them on the blog or email me. And there are also other advocates and supporters from SQL Community whom I trust and are doing the same. I will name just couple of SQL Server MVP that I personally know :

  • Dejan Sarka (blog | twitter)ย  – that chickyย  chicky mathematician ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Davide Mauri (blog | twitter ) – brains + beauty in one package (still no R package) ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Steph Locke ( blog | twitter) – still trying to put R into her name ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Jen Stirrup (blog | twitter )ย ย  –ย  current PASS BI driving force.
  • Stacia Varga ( blog | twitter ) – she will inspire your data ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Peter Myers ( blog | LinkedIn ) – from BI to ML and even more ๐Ÿ™‚

And many many others.

Slidedeck to my session is available here. More materials are available at github. Demos or models I can put on Azure marketplace upon request.

So, don’t be afraid, start using Azure Machine Learning or R. And if you have questions, please post them on this blog or contact me directly.

All Best!

Leave a Reply

